Translate This Page Print This Page Email a Friend Newsletter Sign-Up
Text Size : Sm Med Lg

Renewing a Permit to Operate a Child Care Center

The New York City Health Code Section 47.09 requires permit holders to submit a completed renewal application 90 days prior to the expiration date of the current permit. A $200 permit application fee
is required.

Instructions for Completing a Renewal Application
  1. Download the Renewal Application for Permit to Conduct a Child Care Service PDF form.
  2. Type your responses to each of the questions using the fillable form.
  3. Print the completed application in its entirety.
  4. The Owner or designated Board Member must sign the completed application in the presence of a Notary.
  5. Submit the required documents along with the application:
    • Annual Lead Paint Survey is required if there is paint of an unknown lead content OR there is lead-based paint. This is not required if XRF test results showing the facility is “lead-free” have been submitted to the Bureau.
    • Proof of valid and current Workers’ Compensation Insurance AND Disability Insurance.
  6. Submit any of the following documents that have changed since issuance of the current permit:
    • Incorporation Documentation
    • Safety Plan (including Lost Child Prevention and Retrieval Plan)
    • Health Care Plan
    • Architectural Plans
    • Certificate of Occupancy
    • For a new Educational Director:
      • Proof of qualifications as required by New York City Health Code Sections 47.13, 47.15 and 47.17.
      • Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment (SCR) clearance
      • Criminal Justice Clearance (fingerprinting from the Department of Investigation)
      • Reference Letters from the three (3) most recent employers
      • Physical examination certificate from a licensed health care provider including required immunizations as required by New York City Health Code Section 47.33.
    • Make a photocopy of the notarized application and all documentation and retain for your records.
    • Submit the original application and relevant documents to the assigned Early Childhood Education Consultant. For the borough office address, click here.

Instructions for Submitting the Permit Application Fee
A non-refundable $200 permit fee shall also be submitted for each site and permit. An infant/ toddler permit and a pre-school permit for the same site requires a separate $200 permit fee for each permit application. The renewal application will not be processed until this fee is paid.
  1. Obtain a Certified Bank Check or United States Postal Money Order in the amount of $200 made payable to the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene. These are the only forms of payment that will be accepted by the Department. You may obtain these forms of payment directly from a bank or the U.S. Post Office.

    The Certified Bank Check or United States Postal Money Order must include the following in the note or memo field:
    • Name of your center
    • Address of your site
    • Permit #
  2. Submit the non-refundable permit application fee to the Bureau of Child Care Administration office at:
    NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene Bureau of Child Care Attn: Fee Processing Unit, 125 Worth Street, Room 908, Box 68, New York, NY 10013
    Please do not submit the permit application fee to the local borough office.

What to Expect Next
The Bureau of Child Care will review the Program’s record to confirm that the following requirements for permit renewal issuance have been met:
  • Applicant has completed the renewal application form in its entirety and submitted necessary accompanying documents.
  • Applicant paid the permit renewal fee and owes no outstanding Administrative Tribunal fines or other penalties.
  • The Program is not currently the subject of a suspension or revocation action by the Department, or Vacate Order by the NYC Department of Buildings or the NYC Fire Department.
  • Temporary Certificate of Occupancy or Building Department Letter of No Objection that will not expire prior to permit issuance and was not issued more than one year before the issuance of the permit renewal.
  • Satisfactory Fire Department inspection has occurred within the past year.
  • Program has operated in substantial compliance with the NYC Health Code and applicable law, and has received a satisfactory sanitary or early childhood education consultant inspection within the last six months. Inspections shall be conducted where indicated.
For additional information related to operating a Group Child Care program, please see:
What Permitted Child Care Centers Need to Know: Group Child Care Resource List (PDF)

Last Updated February 5, 2013